April 16, 2008

Business Success Through Lateral Thinking

Posted in web notes at 12:54 pm by Jon Symons

If you’re a regular reader of this site you’ll know that I spend a good deal of my time trying to figure out how to create a website that effectively attracks and converts visitors; usually through clicking ads.

Well yesterday I was reading this thread from the Rich Dad forum when I stumbled across this gem by JscottGecko.

“In fact, on over 70% of my sites I want people to leave and leave quickly. But, I want them leaving through an ad or link…

…On the majority of my sites I want my ads to give the impression that the information they will get by clicking is better than what I am offering. Thus they leave.”

Geez, that is brilliant. A highly keyword-targeted story or site that is purposely mediocre so that viewers will need to click ad links to continue their quest.

Leave a Reply

